TEA - Test of English for Aviation

The new law EASA Part FCL 055 states that to be able to fly out of national boundaries, in addition to the English radiotelephony communication qualification, it is mandatory to have an English language proficiency at least of “4th level”. These qualifications are subject to periodic expiration except of “6th level”.
The linguistic evaluation exam takes almost 25 minutes. Throughout the three sections of the test, the examiner assesses the candidate’s ability based on the following six ICAO language proficiency requirements foresee by Annex 1 ICAO and EASA Part FCL 055: pronunciation, structure, vocabulary, fluency, comprehension and interaction. The candidate is awarded a score of 1 - 6 for each of the six skills.

Section One               
Introduction (5 – 6 minutes)
The candidate is asked a series of questions on common, concrete and work-related topics relating to his/her aviation background.

Section Two
Interactive Comprehension (8-12 minutes)
Part 2A: Candidates listen to aviation-specific recordings of non-routine and emergency situations. Candidates are required to explain what they understand about the situation.
Parts 2B & 2C: Candidates listen to a series of problem-solving role-play scenarios. In Part 2B, the candidate is required to ask questions to the speaker. In Part 2C, the candidate is required to give advice to the speaker.

Section Three
Description and Discussion (8 – 12 minutes)
Candidates are presented with a series of aviation-related images and are asked to describe and compare what they see. The examiner will then ask further questions related to the images

About 25 minutes.

For each area will be assign a level; the final grade is the lowest vote obtained among the six areas. The final evaluation will be issue by the one world center of TEA, which send the certificate, attesting the marks obtained.